ESL Students

January 28, 2010

While in Delaware (see post below to get caught up with my travels), I met many students taking ESL classes. One of the many fabulous things about the ESL program at Lutheran Church of Our Savior  (LCOS) is the oppotunity for childcare that happens for parents learning English. I thought I would share with  you some photographs of the people I got to spend my evening with.

As students arrived the first people I met were two young girls and their mother. A volunteer named Barbara brought the girls over to me with a story to share. These girls had received a dollar that night from their father, and immidiately upon entering the Church for their mother’s ESL classes, the girls went straight to Barbara, and wanted to share the dollar with her. This anecdote is only of of many illustrations of generosity and community that I observed while at LCOS.

