Two Weeks of Learning

September 18, 2009

I live with people from many different countries. Usually upon walking downstairs into my kitchen, I am struck by the depth of the people by whom I am surrounded.  Since moving to Baltimore I have heard a number of stories: doctors who come to the States and are not licensed to practice anymore, international business owners who loose everything due to circumstances beyond their control. I am ending my second week with LIRS, and at this point I have managed to gather information that has led me  to a seemingly simple conclusion: newcomers to the Untied States are very frequently in a state of complete and utter vulnerability. Things are new, different, and feel out of control. This is really hard.

Leave a Reply

