In Search of Welcome: My Year As a Story-teller

September 15, 2009

A story; a continuum of experiences that have created and shaped both thought and belief; people, forces, and knowledge that will continue pushing us forward, further and further into the unknown.  As one story evolves, all characters involved will begin to interact with both individual and communal development. As a 22 year old woman, I recognize my own story as a direct result of the others that I have encountered. My story, just as yours, is a compilation of other stories, those we have seen, heard, and been a part of. I am entirely convinced that to be in relationship with another individual requires absolute interconnectedness of story.

And so it begins, my year as a story-teller in search of transformation. I am a recent graduate of Seattle Pacific University  spending my first year in the “real world” working with Mennonite Volunteer Service (MVS) and Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service (LIRS) on a special project. This year I will be working with stories, specifically stories of “welcome”. I will spend my days entering into dialogue with both former and recent newcomers to the United States. I will learn and I will listen. I will hear stories of travel, refuge, and expectation. I will listen to stories, and I will tell stories. I will video-tape, record, blog, and journal, as I am shaped and transformed by new stories, people, lives, and experiences.

Follow me, a newcomer to Baltimore, the east coast, MVS, and LIRS, as I travel through the eastern United States, in search of other newcomers. Allow your story to be transformed.

“There is no greater agony then an untold story inside of you”

-Maya Angelou

2 Responses to “In Search of Welcome: My Year As a Story-teller”

  1. Lauren Says:

    I ready to follow you on this exciting adventure, my friend! I’m here when you need to bounce ideas off someone…literally, right over your cubicle…here I am!

  2. Bill Says:

    This is awesome! I look forward to following your journey over the coming year…


Leave a Reply

